A teacher asks, “Any advice on approaching a student you think is trans?”

Addi advises a teacher on how to create a safe space for trans kids in school.

Addison's Agenda
3 min readApr 27, 2023

Below is the teleprompter script for another episode of “Ask Addi,” my advice show on YouTube. If you’re so inclined, you could go to my channel and click like and subscribe. It would help grow the channel and allow me to keep making new episodes. Thanks, Addi

Hello, humans! This is Ask Addi, where I, Addison Smith, answer your questions about . . . whatever you send in, really.

If you’re not aware, my primary work in LGBTQ activism is public speaking and teaching diversity and sensitivity classes.

Almost every time I give a presentation, during the Q&A someone will ask what advice I have for teachers, much like this question from Lee:

I tell my students on the first day of class that if they prefer to be called by a different name than what is on my list, or a different pronoun than what said name naturally elicits, then I will honor such requests. I have a student who I believe is transgender this year. “Sam” did not request a pronoun adjustment, so do I assume s/he is ok with whatever or

--

--

Addison's Agenda

Addison Smith is an LGBTQ+ and disability educator and activist living in the Midwest with their cat. They/She. More info at https://addisonsagenda.com