A Trans Person Asks: How do you accept the old you?

Addison's Agenda
4 min readApr 19, 2023

Addi talks about how they learned to accept themself as a trans person.

Below is the teleprompter script for another episode of “Ask Addi,” my advice show on YouTube. If you’re so inclined, you could go to my channel and click like and subscribe. It would help grow the channel and allow me to keep making new episodes. Thanks, Addi

Hello Humans! Welcome back to Ask Addi, your source for . . . me, Addison Smith.

If you’re unaware or can’t tell, I’m trans. Shocking, I know.

I didn’t figure myself out until about 10 years ago when I was in my *mumble*ies.

That left me a lot of time to look back with regret about not figuring myself out sooner. Not transitioning earlier, so I would have been more femme-looking.

I wondered why I never figured it out before. I thought about how my relationship with my body was never great.

I thought about what good taste I showed when shopping with my female friends.

And I thought about how much I don’t like men. They can be really annoying, especially in the groups I was expected to be a part of. Don’t get me wrong; it’s not all men.

--

--

Addison's Agenda

Addison Smith is an LGBTQ+ and disability educator and activist living in the Midwest with their cat. They/She. More info at https://addisonsagenda.com