Do you have suggestions for supporting your trans kid?

Addi answers a parent’s question about what they can do to support their kid.

Addison's Agenda
5 min readOct 30, 2023

Below is a transcript for another episode of “Ask Addi,” my advice show on YouTube. If you’re so inclined, you could go to my channel and click like and subscribe. It would help grow the channel and allow me to keep making new episodes. Thanks, Addi

Hello, humans.

Welcome back to Ask Addi, where I, Addison Smith, answer your questions.

Wow, that sounds pretentious. Self-aggrandizing even. I’m . . . I’m not a self-aggrandizing kind of person. Most people who know me think I have self-esteem issues.

So why am I doing this? Well, I learned about gender theory, neurology, and queer theory and familiarized myself with the social issues and politics around queer people, all in an effort to figure myself out as a trans person and what it means to be trans in our culture.

I wanted to know what I was in for if I came out. One of the most important things I learned, if not the most important thing, is that queers give back. Everyone in the LGBTQ community has put has to put up with a lot of crap. We lose friends…

--

--

Addison's Agenda

Addison Smith is an LGBTQ+ and disability educator and activist living in the Midwest with their cat. They/She. More info at https://addisonsagenda.com