Does Facebook Enable or Encourage Criminals?

Addison's Agenda
5 min readFeb 19, 2021

Some definitions before the story:

Enable:

  1. to make able; give power, means, competence, or ability to:
  2. to make possible or easy:

Encourage:

  1. to inspire with courage, spirit, or confidence:
  2. to stimulate by assistance, approval, etc.:

Enable is more passive. In the case of online criminality, it would be merely providing the platform that makes crime possible. Encourage is active. Here it would be assisting the criminals, thus stimulating their activity.

Now the story:

Yesterday morning, I received a friend request from who I thought was a current Facebook friend, Maevyn Stone. It happens, especially when the person is a working musician. Occasionally changing or adding profiles helps with marketing, so I didn’t think anything of it. I accepted the request thinking that I was helping my friend.

A few minutes later, I received this message through the messenger app. Now, you’ll notice, as I finally did, that the message is not from Maevyn Stone but Maevyn-stone; however, that is her picture. I’ve known Maevyn for over 15 years now, approaching 20. I knew that this message didn’t sound like something that she would send to a friend, and I knew…

--

--

Addison's Agenda

Addison Smith is an LGBTQ+ and disability educator and activist living in the Midwest with their cat. They/She. More info at https://addisonsagenda.com