How a Disability Can Turn a Good Day into a Bad Week

I had a great day, and then the symptoms of hEDS disrupted the rest of my week.

Addison's Agenda
4 min readNov 13, 2023

Between shooting episodes of “In Bed with hEDS” on the days I have to call off due to hEDS symptoms, and while questions for a new run of “Ask Addi” accumulate, I’ve begun producing unscripted videos on random topics. What follows is an essay adapted from the transcript of one of those videos.

Hello, Humans!

I’ve decided to start doing more casual videos instead of the more elaborate greenscreen productions I usually do on this channel just to get some more thoughts out of my head and into the universe.

In this first one, I want to tell you about my day on Monday. It was my day off from my job, and I went to Indianapolis. I live about an hour outside of Indianapolis, and I had a doctor’s appointment because of my various medical issues. I often go down to Indy to see a doctor instead of seeing one where I live because the hospital lacks the services I need here.

And you know, when you have EDS and ADHD, and you are trans, it’s a lot. So I went down in the morning, had a doctor’s appointment, and decided to make a day of it.

--

--

Addison's Agenda

Addison Smith is an LGBTQ+ and disability educator and activist living in the Midwest with their cat. They/She. More info at https://addisonsagenda.com