I Look at You and I See Myself

On Trans Identity, Christine and the Queens, and Clarity

Addison's Agenda
6 min readNov 12, 2018

I recently gave a talk to a college class about my consulting and education business as well as my experience as a transgender person. I gave a fairly typical talk about my experience but I was asked two questions that I had never really thought about before, that no one had asked before.

What do you not like about masculinity?

What outside of masculinity do you like?

In the moment, these stumped me which is kinda embarrassing for someone who writes an advice column. I’ve never considered being trans as a reaction to or a dislike of masculinity or even an embrace of femininity. It just is. I’m not running to femininity. I’m simply feminine. Well, the femme side of androgynous really. So, not knowing exactly how to answer the question, I blathered. “Oh, I don’t like the way men talk about women.” “Everybody was about Han and Luke, but I liked Leia” Ramble ramble blather blather.

Of course, this got me thinking about my relationship to masculinity and femininity. Why haven’t I thought about this before? It seems to be something I should have considered. Was I purposefully avoiding the question? What do I think of masculinity beyond “cis-het men are kinda creepy”? Do I indeed embrace femininity? I identify as an androgyne so, by definition, I mix these two cultural concepts to form a unique presentation and outlook on life. Shouldn’t I have considered what these…

--

--

Addison's Agenda

Addison Smith is an LGBTQ+ and disability educator and activist living in the Midwest with their cat. They/She. More info at https://addisonsagenda.com