In Bed with hEDS: A Primer on hEDS

Addi gives you a primer on their disability, hypermobile Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome, a disorder that affects somewhere between 1 in 600 to 1 in 20,000 people, depending on the source you read. They cover what a genetic disorder is, how hEDS affects the body’s collagen, and some of the effects weak collagen can cause.

Addison's Agenda
7 min readNov 2, 2023

Since completing my first run of Ask Addi, I have turned to raising awareness for the disability that affects me and my child, hypermobile Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome (hEDS). This genetic disorder weakens the connective tissue in the body, causing myriad effects. This limited video series, filmed on the days I have to call off from work due to hEDS symptoms, examines those effects.

Hello, Humans!

Welcome to the first episode of In Bed with hEDS! As you can see, I am in my bed, and less obviously, I have hEDS, h.E.D.S., hypermobile Ehlers-Danlos syndrome. In this limited series, I will use myself as a case study of hEDS so that you can know what I, and by extension, what others have to deal with when they have this hereditary…

--

--

Addison's Agenda

Addison Smith is an LGBTQ+ and disability educator and activist living in the Midwest with their cat. They/She. More info at https://addisonsagenda.com