In Bed with hEDS: Teaser

The beginning of a new series! In this video, Addi previews the symptoms and life issues caused by their disability, hypermobile Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome.

Addison's Agenda
3 min readOct 31, 2023

Since completing my first run of Ask Addi, I have turned to raising awareness for the disability that affects me and my child, hypermobile Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome (hEDS). This genetic disorder weakens the connective tissue in the body, causing myriad effects. This limited video series, filmed on the days I have to call off from work due to hEDS symptoms, examines those effects.

Hello, humans. I’m Addison Smith, just Addi, and welcome to my bed.

I wish this was a sexy video series, but this is where I end up spending a lot of my time. You see, I have a disability, a genetic disorder called Hypermobile Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome, or h.E.D.S. or hEDS, and hEDS ends up putting me in bed, sometimes for days at a time.

And that’s the clever origin of the name of this video series. “In Bed with hEDS.” hEDS is a connective tissue disorder. That means my body does not make connective tissue correctly, and connective tissue makes up about 80% of the human body, so it can really screw me up in…

--

--

Addison's Agenda

Addison Smith is an LGBTQ+ and disability educator and activist living in the Midwest with their cat. They/She. More info at https://addisonsagenda.com