Is it transphobic to not want to date a trans person?

Addison's Agenda
5 min readJun 22, 2023

Addi answers two questions related to dating trans folx — is it transphobic to not date trans folx, and what’s the difference between attraction and fetishization?

Below is a transcript for another episode of “Ask Addi,” my advice show on YouTube. If you’re so inclined, you could go to my channel and click like and subscribe. It would help grow the channel and allow me to keep making new episodes. Thanks, Addi

Hello, Humans. Welcome to Ask Addi. I’m Addison Smith, or just Addi. Thus the name of the show.

So today, I’m going to tackle two, two questions. Why? Because they’re both about dating, so they should come in pairs. And I’m probably not the best person to ask about dating, so I’m going to try to get them out of the way.

It’s been a while since my last date. But these are questions that I can answer. So if I put them in one episode, I don’t have to deal with them until someone asks another dating question.

Okay. Question one. “Is it transphobic to not want to date a trans person?” asks J.

Well, J, there’s two ways of looking at that question. If you mean a particular trans person, maybe not. If you mean any trans person at…

--

--

Addison's Agenda

Addison Smith is an LGBTQ+ and disability educator and activist living in the Midwest with their cat. They/She. More info at https://addisonsagenda.com