The Philosophy of “Oooh”

A Commitment to Being Open and Obvious

Addison's Agenda
4 min readAug 27, 2018

There’s almost nothing I won’t discuss with people about my transition. There’s a couple of things that are a bit too private but not much. I’ve never done the two-lives thing where I presented one way in certain situations and another way in other situations. I don’t hide the changes to my body, ever. If someone calls me a faggot, I correct them by telling them that I’m actually a dyke. I mean, if you’re going to use a schoolyard taunt, use the right one. I then watch their heads explode.

Selfie by the author

I call this the Philosophy of “Oooh.” The name comes from the sound that many make when they realize I’m trans, “O-o-oh.” It’s more of an elongated “oh” like “oh, shit” than “ooh” like “ooh, baby baby.” It’s the sound of realization, of confirmation and sometimes of approbation and sometimes of condemnation. It’s not always verbal. Often, it’s a look in the eyes when someone finally gets close enough to make out the details of my appearance.

I tend to think of this as an anagram for “Out, Open, Obvious and Honest.” (It should probably be “The Philosophy of O-O-OH” then.) I’m out. Everyone who knows me, friends, family, coworkers, my bartender and barista, all know that I’m trans. I’m open. Like I said above, I’m willing to answer just about any question about being trans or my transition. I’m obvious…

--

--

Addison's Agenda

Addison Smith is an LGBTQ+ and disability educator and activist living in the Midwest with their cat. They/She. More info at https://addisonsagenda.com