There is No Place for Me in The Dresdenverse

Addison's Agenda
5 min readDec 19, 2020

I told you about my fan theory about The Dresden Files by Jim Butcher in my last entry. Tarot cards and all that. I offer that as proof that I am indeed a fan of the book series. I’ve been reading it for years. I’ve reread the whole series multiple times. Most of my editions are hardcover. I even own the role-playing game.

It is from the standpoint of a disappointed fan that I say this; there’s no place for someone like me in the Dresdenverse.

As I was rereading the series earlier this year, getting ready for Peace Talks, the first half of the latest entry in the series, I came to a realization. Where are all the queers?

I’m not saying that everyone has to write stories about LGBTQ+ people. I’m not even saying that everyone has to include a queer person in their tales. But these are novels, short stories, graphic novels, and a television show about the magical community. In Chicago. And you’re telling me that there isn’t a single Lesbian, Gay man, Bisexual person, Transgender person, Queer person, or any other gender or sexual minority in that community. If you’ve ever hung out with witches or at an LGBTQ bar, you know that there is a great deal of intersectionality in those groups. So where are they?

Butcher wouldn’t have to make a main character gay or bi. He wouldn’t even have to make a…

--

--

Addison's Agenda

Addison Smith is an LGBTQ+ and disability educator and activist living in the Midwest with their cat. They/She. More info at https://addisonsagenda.com