Those Who Wish to Serve and Are Able May

Addison's Agenda
4 min readFeb 10, 2021

The summer after my senior year of high school, I boarded a bus that took me to a plane that took me to the Recruit In-Processing Facility Orlando, otherwise known as Navy World, otherwise known as the now-closed Navy boot camp. The first step in my planned career in the US Navy was filled with excitement and trepidation. I was sure I would rise through the ranks as a nuclear technician serving on an aircraft carrier and become a commissioned officer one day.

Photo by Michael Afonso on Unsplash

Three weeks later, I left the Recruit Out-Processing Facility on my way back home. I suffered an asthma attack in my first PT test, my first ever asthma attack, which deemed me unfit for duty. Basically, they shaved my head and sent me home.

It was crushing. After my wheezing run around the track, a single medical exam derailed everything I had planned for my life. No military career. No training in a lucrative industry. No college after serving. Instead, I returned to West Virginia, where I grew up, and tried to pick up the pieces — living with my mom, working in retail and foodservice while saving up the money to go to school. I don’t think I can adequately describe the financial and emotional toll that event took on me. It took me five long years, but eventually, I made it to college and established myself in the community.

--

--

Addison's Agenda

Addison Smith is an LGBTQ+ and disability educator and activist living in the Midwest with their cat. They/She. More info at https://addisonsagenda.com